top of page

Knit Block


Initial technical samples

At the beginning of the knit block, I was conscious of the similarity in knit and weave, and having just completed the weave block, I wanted to make sure that my experiments in knit didn't look like my weave samples. Whereas I used a lot of non-yarn materials in weave, I decided to use only yarn in knit. I also aimed to make use of the more three dimensional nature of knit. I devoted the whole of this block to one object from my collection - the dried flower as seen below.

I chose to explore the spherical shapes found in the centre of the flower in a number of ways. In the 1st image below, I hand-knitted a swatch of 'blackberry' stitches, which I then embellished with dark purple yarn. In the 2nd image, I pushed tubes of knitting through a chunky knitted swatch then drew a thread around the base where these tubes emerged, and pulled tightly, to create a bumpy, irregular raised surface.

The 3rd image shows another hand-knitted sample, this time with bobble stitches. I created a tube out of this swatch as it looked a bit boring when flat and by rolling up the swatch, the 'bobble's became even more prominent.

I crocheted the sample in the 4th photo and added some knotted yarn to exaggerate the veins found in the original object.

Shown below are my final samples. In one sample, I made multiples of a slightly triangular shape in the different colours. I kept the ends rolled up as it reminded me of the way the dried flower petal curled in on itself.

My other sample shows the way I explored the ridges found in the dried flower. I joined several strips of knitting together and presented them with the seams sitting upwards.

Overall, I feel like I missed an opportunity in exploring the potential for pattern-making in knit. I focused primarily on texture and should have looked beyond that. If I could do this block again, I would like to explore to possibility of making my own punchcards.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
bottom of page